B is for Barely

As in barely have I had this for 24-hours and already I’ve nearly forgotten about it.  But, yay for me, I remembered and I’m posting.

I don’t do New Year’s resolutions.  I don’t really see the point in setting yourself up for failure at the beginning of the year.  I believe far more firmly in the idea that what you do on the first day of the new year is what you will do for the rest of the year.  While there are a few things I wish I had done on January 1st, the things I did do are pretty good and I won’t mind repeating them all year long.  I slept late (which I’m trying to do as much as possible so that I won’t miss it too much when I’m teaching and up super early in the mornings), had a great lunch at the local Mexican restaurant, had a few good laughs, and wore one of my most favorite outfits.  If I could do that just have the days of 2010, I’d be all set.

Now, as for what I wish I had done that very first day of the new year.  I wish I had dropped to the ground and done a few sit ups and  push ups.  I don’t mind doing them, when I think to.  I actually enjoy doing sit ups and they’re my exercise of  choice.  I’m thinking more and more of how I should get into some sort of basic everyday exercise routine.  If it’s only half an hour a day on the floor of my bedroom, that’s better than nothing at all.  I’m not a runner, or a gym goer…I prefer much more private modes of working out.  I went to a yoga class one day last semester with a friend and never went back.  The people were nice and I didn’t mind the work, but the room had one full wall of mirrors.  I don’t mind seeing myself when I’m in a cute outfit, but black high water sweats and an over sized tee?  No, thank you.  It didn’t help that my friend didn’t want to go back.  There was no way I wasn’t going to go with out a buddy.  There was partner work at the end and I don’t want to take my chances of being the only person there with out a partner.

On another note, I’m counting down the days until I have to go on a trip with a group I’m a part of at school.  We leave at 5:30 am on Friday, and that’s about all the detail I have.  I would love to know more.  Like what clothes to pack.  What money I’ll need.  When I’ll be coming back home.  Yeah, that last one’s kind of important.

Leave a Reply

